(‘RAYS‘ – TROUBLE IN MIND – 31/03)

Oakland four-piece Rays draw out the sort of fervent music that is immediate upon first listen but then uncoils itself in your mind as you float through your day to day routine. Newly signed to Trouble In Mind and set to release a full-length in a couple months time, the group have shared ‘Drop Dead‘ – a single full of such fruitful returns that it bounds into your living room with a screeching halt to wake you up off the couch.

Uncompromising from the very opening seconds of drawback fuzz, the group somehow manage to control a railroad rhythm of caustic guitars that are pleasingly more melodic than you first expect. As a tempered, cogitative voice breaks the incessancy, the balance of acute potency and hook-filled captivation making it more than a pleasing persuasion for repeat listens.

‘Rays’, the self-titled debut record from the group – will be available from 31st March via Trouble In Mind Records.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s