Continuing their run of flexidisc and magazine bundles, soon to be Bristol by London record label Art Is Hard prepares to make an addition to the series by releasing the new 3-track single ‘The Wait’ by White Sands on the 6th of October.

Existing in the similar vein of the supergroup-esque line-up akin to Menace Beach, White Sands members pull from a diverse range of creative minds and fertile environments, making for an eclectic range of musical directions. Having a line up call that consists of Conan Roberts of Mazes, Sophy Hollington of Novella and John Arthur Webb of Male Bonding, means that the assortment of pedigree in the band is well founded and the produce of which, as demonstrated in lead single ‘The Wait’, as well as ‘Expect Nothing‘, is not lack luster or second-rate.

A bed of rasping lead supports the opening chime as the first few seconds of the song roll past. The ethereal sounding soundscapes confirms the notion that each band member has pulled equal weight in adding their own sonic personalities to the music, with influences from Mazes jangling lead melodies and Male Bonding’s wall of haze both being present in both over and undertones in the mix. But even as the official single bio reads: “With the obvious soundings and influence from their respective ‘other’ projects, White Sands heightens a darker and far more furious edge to any of those previous.”

As mind expanding as it hypnotic, ‘Expect Nothing’ is a phosphorescent journey through a nebulous of melodic haze, bathed in whimpering lead guitar lines and nonchalant vocals amongst a sinister instrumentation masking itself in a pop persona, showing that collectively, the band members within White Sands are using this new project as an envoy to showcase the slightly darker sides of their personalities.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s